top of page

Ian Paisley's Church Not For Dark Colored

Reverend Ian Paisley is a church leader in

Belfast, Northern Ireland who is a pro-England Protestant extremist. One fine Sunday a young Anglo-Indian who was thinking of converting to Christianity happened to enter Paisley's church. He had been told much about the reverend's strong preaching, and wanted hear a sermon himself. But as he sat down in a pew, the reverend broke off his sermon and pointed directly at the young man.


"What are you doing in this church?" he demanded.


"Well, ah, I'm thinking of becoming a Christian, so, er, I thought I'd just attend your sermon today," the young man stammered.


"This, sir, is not a church for the castoffs of oriental heathendom."


Paisley thundered. "If you want to join a church, find one that admits rag-tag coloreds like yourself. This is a church that believes the Unite


d Kingdom has no place for Catholics, Jews and the dark races!"


The young man unhappily went home and began to pray. Hours passed. He continued praying fervently. Suddenly the room was filled with light, and a majestic voice came from down on high.


"You pray very sincerely. How can I be of help to you?"


The young man was awe-struck to know that God Himself had answered his prayers. With folded hands, he stated his purpose:


"My Lord, I would like to get into Reverend Paisley's church."


God chuckled. "Well, son, I'm afraid I can't help you. I Myself have been trying to get into that church for the last 30 years."

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page